Dreams and Nightmares

Dreams and Nightmares

The Dream of being a football player was a big one for me. The Nightmare was the condition I had. Epilepsy could’ve easily stopped me from taking up a career in football, but my passion was always in playing the game. It may have taken a little longer than expected (signed my first pro contract at 24 years of age) but I got there in the end. I write this post as football is full of what I call Dreams and Nightmares. My Dream was to play at Wembley and I did that, to test myself against the best opposition from the Premiership, to win silverware, I feel I made the most of my career and that doesn’t come easy. It can come with a lot of ups and a lot of downs. Players are always told to never get too carried away when you’re on top because football can change in an instant, its so true.I’ve had plenty of parents from around the globe asking for advice for their kids who suffer fro the same condition and i try and be as honest and try share as much about my own career as possible. My recent message was from a dad in Argentina (could be helping the next Messi come through) whos dream is to play but football clubs in Argentina wont give his son a chance because of his condition. This is why i do what i do. Awareness of Epilepsy is much needed and i feel its my duty to try and do what i can to educate, and also to give hope to young players with this condition that it is still possible to play football and have Epilepsy.

Epilepsy and seizures was just a part of my career, good and bad, i basically integrated it and normalised my condition and thats how i am able to talk so freely about it.

I’ve had patches in my career where I’ve had to win over fans that were one week shouting your name from the stands to pointing the blame at you when things are going wrong. Me being me, it was just a hurdle that I had to get over. Epilepsy was my biggest hurdle, so winning back a section of fans was going to be a piece of cake. I’ve always felt that I’ve left clubs on a positive and when I do return I get great receptions. Right now I’ve taken a mental break from football and looking at possible avenues in the game, but with the World Cup around the corner and coaching my 8 year old son it has given me a little bit of an urge to get the boots back out and to get back on the pitch. I still have a lot to give on and off the pitch so come January I may be willing to be ready to get involved in more “Dreams and Nightmares” but right now its getting ready for the World Cup, Cheer on England and praying for a successful tournament and hoping the England lads go on to creating every boys Dream of lifting the World Cup!

Published by Leonlegge

Hi, i am a professional football player who plays in the Professional football league in league2. I have a condition that many people in the U.K. and the world find hard to understand and don’t know too much about and that is Epilepsy, i am writing this blog to tell you about my career and how i have dealt with this condition and the hurdles i have taken in order to get where i am today.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started